Preferential Trade Agreements

Over the years, the countries of the European Union, including Germany, have signed a large number of preferential trade agreements. As a result, imports from these countries enjoy advantages related to reduced customs formalities and costs for entering the European (and German) markets.

Regions and countries benefiting from preferential agreements with the European Community include:

  • The European Free Trade Area and European Economic Area (Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland)
  • Three non-EU Countries in the EC Customs Union (Andorra, San Marino, Turkey)
  • ACP countries (48 African, 16 Caribbean and 15 Pacific countries)
  • 20 Overseas Countries and Territories (OCT)
  • Countries  of the Pan-Euro-Mediterranean cumulation (EU, EFTA, Turkey, Faroe Islands and 9 other Mediterranean countries)
  • 27 least developed countries of the Generalized System of Preferences
  • Western Balkan states (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia and Serbia and Montenegro)
  • South Africa
  • Mexico and Chile
  • Faroe Islands, Ceuta and Melilla

A complete list of all preferential agreements of the EU with other countries is available on the Trade website of the European Commission. Furthermore, in order to take advantage of preferential trade status, preferential origin for imports from outside the EU must be properly documented for customs purposes. More information on the supporting documents for a customs declaration is available for download.


Information Center

Information Desk / Helpdesk with Red i-Sign| © iStockphoto

Do you have further questions? Please feel free to contact us anytime.

Related Links