Interactive Guide

Step 1 - Country of Origin

Where is your company based?

  1. In Germany
  2. In one of the following other 19 EU and EEA Member States
    (Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom)
  3. In a new EU Member State
    (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia)
  4. In a country that is neither member of the EU nor of the EEA

Why is this question important? - Many prerequisites for the provision of services in Germany depend on the origin of the company or entrepreneur. For instance: businesses from other EU Member States may rely on the freedom to provide service and the freedom of establishment within the single European Market and face significantly reduced administrative requirements. However, entrepreneurs from the new EU Member States need to observe several transitional rules. Businesses from outside the EU/EEA face the most complex administrative procedures.

I am not sure - how do I find my country of origin? - The country is either the country where the company is based or the country the sole-proprietor is from respectively.