Information about Saxony

Saxony is the birthplace of German industrialization, and long-standing traditional industries - such as machine construction and automotive manufacturing - continue to flourish there. The state is situated in the easternmost part of Germany and has two neighboring countries, the Czech Republic and Poland, and four neighboring federal states.

Saxony's modern claim to fame is its leading position among the world's most innovative locations for microelectronics. Large global corporations based there have attracted even more microelectronic companies to the area and made ''Silicon Saxony'' the center of Europe's microelectronic industry. All together, there are nearly 200 companies there in the semiconductor industry employing more than 20,000 people. The innovative strength of this industry is backed by those of the environmental technology and nanotechnology sectors, and together they have made Saxony's one of Germany's fastest-growing economies.

The driving force behind these achievements is Saxony's people: the highly skilled and motivated workers, the innovative researchers, and the investor-friendly public officials. Moreover, Saxony's central location and superb infrastructure provide optimal conditions for transportation within Germany and Europe. The Leipzig/Halle airport, for example, operates around-the-clock as a major hub for both international and intercontinental air cargo.

Saxony is also home to the well-known architectural and cultural offerings of Dresden, Freiberg, and Leipzig, as well as the famous craftsmanship. The region boasts gorgeous landscapes - such as Saxon Switzerland and its fortress-rich mountains - that enchant visitors with well-preserved historic towns.


Facts about Saxony

Picture showing a map of Germany highlighting Saxony | © Germany Trade and Invest

Area: 18,420 km2
Inhabitants: 4,055,274
Density: 220 inh./km2
Capital: Dresden
GDP: 108.65 bn. EUR (2014)

Germany's Federal States

Wappen von Baden-Wuerttemberg Bavaria Wappen von Berlin Wappen von Brandenburg
Wappen von Bremen Wappen von Hamburg Wappen von Hessen Wappen von Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
Wappen von Niedersachsen Wappen von Nordrhein-Westfalen Wappen von Rheinland-Pfalz Wappen von Saarland
Wappen von Sachsen Wappen von Sachsen-Anhalt Wappen von Schleswig-Holstein Wappen von Thueringen

Powerhouse Eastern Germany

© Germany Trade & Invest

The platform for the New Federal States